Portland, Oregon 

We left our campsite early to try and beat traffic to Portland. It is just over a 3 hour drive from Florence, Oregon to Portland. This drive actually took us over 5 hours because, well, I wanted to shop.

Our first stop was at the Woodburn outlets, just outside of Portland. Here we shopped (of course stopping at the Disney store) and had lunch at Panera Bread.

After the outlets we made our way into Portland. Our hotel, a Double Tree by Hilton, was located right in the city beside a mall, the Lloyd Center. After checking in and having a proper shower, Chris and I were ready to go back out.

Our first stop was the mall. We did some more shopping and decided it was time for dinner. Wanting something simple, we found a Red Robbins down the road. After dinner and drinks we decided to call it a night for the long drive the next day.

oregon2

We got up early to go have breakfast in Portland city centre. We took the train in, which only took about 15 minutes. Neither of us had been to Portland before so we had no idea where to go. We wandered the streets before finding a place called Imperial. We went in on a whim and it was one of the best food decisions we’ve ever made.

This restaurant was incredible. It was clear they changed their menu weekly as ours was printed with the previous day’s date. I ordered the eggs Benedict of the day with a mimosa and Chris ordered a chorizo, egg hash. The food was amazing. If you ever find yourself looking for somewhere to eat in Portland, check this place out.

After brunch we made a quick stop at Nordstrom rack (of course). We then took the train back to the hotel and headed back home.

The drive from Portland to Vancouver (Canada, not Washington) is just over 5 hours. However, because it was our trip, it took about 7. We hit two major traffic jams that held us up forever.

At the beginning of our trip, when we stopped at the Seattle Premium Outlets, I fell in love with a Kate Spade purse. I hadn’t been able to stop thinking about it, nor had I found anything better. As we went past the outlets I decided to stop and treat myself.

Much to Chris’s disgust, we had to line up to get into the store. The wait wasn’t long, and before no time we were in. I bee lined it to the purse I couldn’t stop thinking about and snatched it up. Chris also found me a matching wallet that he convinced me to get (how unlike him).

There was a great sale on as everything was 50% off with an extra 20% after the discount. I ended up paying $200 for a $400 purse and a $150 wallet. I was more than happy.

We then made the final stretch home, waiting 45 minutes at the border into Canada. All in all it was a great trip with a few hiccups here and there. If anyone is planning to take an Oregon coast road trip, I recommend taking more than 4 days like we did. This trip should take you 1-2 weeks. That’s what we will be doing next time.

Leave a comment